The University of Colorado has formed a search committee to begin looking for the next dean for the College of Music.

Dan Sher, who announced his resignation last month, will complete his 20th year as dean of the music school in June 2013 and then return to teaching in the college.

Jim Williams, dean of the libraries at CU, will lead the search committee.

CU is planning for the new dean to begin prior to the fall 2013 semester.

In addition to Williams, members of the search committee include James Austin, associate dean for undergraduate studies in the College of Music; Alejandro Cremaschi, keyboard; John Davis, jazz studies; Judith Glyde, strings; Christina Jennings, woodwinds; Jay Keister, musicology; Daniel Kellogg, composition; Gary Lewis, orchestral studies; Rebecca Maloy, musicology; Patrick Mason, voice; William Stanley, brass-percussion; and Keith Waters, music theory.

Additional members include Lissy Garrison, CU Foundation; Regina Houck, staff representative; Carolyn Keyes, graduate student; Becky Roser, chair of the College of Music Advisory Board; and Kirk Ambrose, from the Department of Art and Art History who will serve as a non-voting arts and humanities representative.

Contact Camera Staff Writer Brittany Anas at 303-473-1132 or