The Colorado Sports Hall of Fame has selected Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning and Olympic swimmer Missy Franklin as its professional and amateur athletes of the year, the selection committee announced Tuesday.

Franklin, who won four golds and a bronze at the 2012 London Olympics, was named the Hall's 2011 amateur of the year as well. The senior at Regis High won gold in the 100-meter and 200-meter individual backstroke, the 800-meter freestyle and 400-meter medley relays and bronze in the 400-meter freestyle relay.

Manning joined the Broncos in the offseason and has led the team to the No. 1 seed in the AFC playoffs after a 13-3 season, which ended with an 11-game win streak.

Missy Franklin
Missy Franklin (Martin Bureau, Getty Images)

Other athlete-of-the-year selections were: collegiate standouts Shalaya Kipp (Colorado track and cross country) and Ross Dausin (CSU-Pueblo football); high school honorees Bonnie Brandon (Cherry Creek swimming) and Wilkins Dismuke (Rock Canyon lacrosse); and disabled athlete Lacey Henderson (National Sports Center for the Disabled).

All will be honored April 18 at a banquet at the Marriott Denver City Center (tickets are $175) along with the newest Colorado Sports Hall of Fame inductees Steve Atwater, Don Baylor, Don Cockroft, Adam Foote, Steve Jones and Stan Williams. The Hall of Fame Class was selected this past October.