CU women's basketball schedule

Fri., Nov. 2 -- WESTERN STATE (exhib.)

Sun., Nov. 11 -- IDAHO

Sun., Nov. 18 -- at Missouri-Kansas City

Fri., Nov. 23 -- TEXAS A&M-CORPUS CHRISTI#

Sat., Nov. 24 -- AUBURN OR SAN DIEGO STATE#

Wed., Nov. 28 -- WYOMING

Sat., Dec. 1 -- at Illinois

Wed., Dec. 5 -- COLORADO STATE

Tue., Dec. 11 -- at Denver

Fri., Dec. 14 -- LOUISVILLE

Sat., Dec. 22 -- UTAH VALLEY

Sat., Dec. 29 -- NEW MEXICO

Fri., Jan 4 -- STANFORD*

Sun., Jan. 6 -- CALIFORNIA*

Wed., Jan. 9 -- UTAH*

Sat., Jan. 12 -- at Utah*

Fri., Jan. 18 -- ARIZONA STATE*

Sun., Jan. 20 -- ARIZONA*

Fri., Jan. 25 -- at California*

Sun., Jan. 27 -- at Stanford*

Fri., Feb. 1 -- at UCLA*

Sun., Feb. 3 -- at USC*

Fri., Feb. 8 -- OREGON STATE*

Sun., Feb. 10 -- OREGON*

Fri., Feb. 15 -- at Arizona*

Sun., Feb. 17 -- at Arizona State*

Fri., Feb. 22 -- WASHINGTON STATE*

Sun., Feb. 24 -- WASHINGTON*

Fri., March 1 -- at Oregon*

Sun., March 3 -- at Oregon State*

March 7-10 -- Pac-12 Tournament (Seattle)

All game times TBA.

# Omni Hotels Classic

* Pac-12 games.

T he Colorado women's basketball team will tackle one of its toughest non-league schedules in recent years this season.

A home date with potential top-10 Louisville and dates with regional rivals Colorado State, Denver and Wyoming highlight a schedule that should be appealing to fans and challenging to the Buffs.

The schedule, announced on Thursday, also includes non-conference home dates with Idaho, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Utah Valley, New Mexico and either Auburn or San Diego State (in the Omni Hotels Classic).

CU will travel to Missouri-Kansas City, Illinois and Denver for non-conference road games.

"We have our work cut out for us," CU head coach Linda Lappe said. "I think it's very appealing and I think there's a lot of teams that fans will want to come see us play against and see how we'll do.

"We'll get tested pretty early, so it's going to be good for our team, as well, to be able to get tested, figure out what we need to improve upon and figure out who we are as a team from the get-go."

Louisville could be a marquee matchup for the Buffs.

The Cardinals went 23-10 and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament last season. Shortly after the 2011-12 season ended, ESPN.com ranked Louisville No. 11 in its early look at the 2012-13 season.

A year ago, the Buffs went 11-0 in non-conference play, but never came close to the top 25 rankings.

An 11-0 start this year would be much more impressive.

"We'll be a top-25 team if we're undefeated to start conference play, for sure," Lappe said. "It is much more difficult (than last year) and it is that way because I think our team is ready for that."

In addition to the more challenging non-conference schedule, the Buffs have a chance to get off to a great start in Pac-12 play.

Following three straight home games to end the non-conference slate, CU will play three straight Pac-12 games at home, against Stanford, California and Utah.

In fact, five of the first six Pac-12 games are at home, with the only trip being at Utah.

Some details of the Pac-12 schedule could still change when the Pac-12 Network broadcast schedule is announced in the fall, but it won't change the fact that CU has a good opportunity early in conference play.

One change in the Pac-12 schedule this year has most games being played on Fridays and Sundays. Last year, most were on Thursdays and Saturdays.

Overall, CU will have 17 home games and could face as many as 13 teams that played postseason hoops last season.

The Buffs have two BCS conference teams (Illinois and Louisville) on the non-conference schedule and could face a third (Auburn). CU played one BCS team in non-conference play a year ago.