Skip to content

PARIS — Twenty teams will compete at this summer’s Tour de France, including one from Boulder. Lance Armstrong will return to the race he won seven times, and the former Saunier Duval-Scott team will be excluded from cycling’s premier event.

Armstrong is riding with Astana in a comeback bid after 31/2 years of retirement. Ivan Basso, who served a doping ban, could also make his return to the Tour with Liquigas.

France will enter five teams, the only country with more than two. The two U.S. teams are Garmin-Slipstream, of Boulder, Colo., and Team Columbia-Highroad, of San Luis Obispo, Calif. Garmin-Slipstream’s Christian Vandevelde finished fourth in the 2008 Tour, the highest finish that year by an American.

The 20 teams will have a total of 180 riders for the 96th edition of the Tour, which starts July 4 in the principality of Monaco.

In addition to the U.S., Belgium, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain also have two teams each. Denmark, Germany, Kazakhstan, Russia and Switzerland have one each.

Agritubel, Skil-Shimano and Cervelo Test Team — for which Tour champion Carlos Sastre now rides — were given wild cards to enter.

The Spanish team now called Fuji-Servetto quit the 2008 Tour when rider Riccardo Ricco tested positive for the blood-booster CERA after winning two stages. The team was also excluded from the recent Paris-Nice race before being left off the 2009 competition list released by Tour organizer Amaury Sport Organization.

“For us, it is out of the question that they start in any of our races,” ASO spokesman Christophe Marchadier said.

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.