After hours and hours (translation: 15 minutes) of listening to Usher in the name of finding “Song of Summer” contenders, I was feeling a little dead inside.

Lucky for me, Dave Burdick stepped in with a remedy: “Escape From Groove Mountain.” My soul feels much better now, thanks.

The playlist was put together by the totally weird Dent May, sans his “Magnificent Ukelele.” Looks like a propensity for uke tunes doesn’t ruin your ear for grooves.

Here’s the track list:

Dr. Togo – “Be Free”
Lenon Honor, Jr. – “Dancin’ Mood”
Vaughan Mason & Butch Dayo – “Feel My Love”
James “Pane” Taylor – “This Girl”
Orange Juice – “Flesh Of My Flesh”
Fern Kinney – “Together We Are Beautiful”
Kid Creole & The Coconuts – “I’m A Wonderful Thing Baby”
Atlantic Starr – “When Love Calls”
Sylvia Striplin – “You Can’t Turn Me Away”
Collage – “Special Occasion”
The Jackson Southernaires – “Don’t Look Down On A Man”
Betty Wright – “Tonight Is The Night”

blog comments powered by Disqus