As promised, The Yawpers are releasing an album of covers and they’re throwing a release party on Halloween.

Frontman Nate Cook told us back in September, “It’s just stupid versions of good songs. We might call it that, actually … ‘Stupid Versions of Good Songs.'”

Close enough. They’re calling it Good Songs/Shitty Versions. It was recorded almost completely live, in one day with Bill Douglass at Royal Recording in Colorado Springs. Here’s the tracklist:

“Sweet Emotion,” Aerosmith
“Suspicious Minds,” Elvis Presley
“Booze Me Up and Get Me High,” Ween
“Yakety Yak,” The Coasters
“Silicone Love,” The Yawpers (Yes, they covered themselves.)

“Ace of Spades,” Motorhead

Pick up a copy during their show with Eldren and Dragondeer at the Soiled Dove on Halloween. The show starts at 8 p.m. and tickets are $10.

blog comments powered by Disqus