• Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer

    CU men's basketball head coach Tad Boyle instructs his team during practice.

  • Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer

    CU men's basketball head coach Tad Boyle instructs his team during practice.

of

Expand

Friday, Nov. 14 – Vs. Drexel, 6 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Monday, Nov. 17 – Vs. Auburn, 11 p.m, ESPN2.

Saturday, Nov. 22 – At Wyoming, TBA, ESPN 3

Tuesday, Nov. 25 – Vs. Air Force , 7 p.m. Pac-12 Network

Sunday, Nov. 30 – Vs. Lipscomb, Noon, Pac-12 Network

Wednesday, Dec. 03 – Vs. San Francisco, 8 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Sunday, Dec. 07 – At Georgia, 10 a.m., SEC Network

Wednesday, Dec. 10 – Vs. CSU. 7 p.m. Pac-12 Network

Saturday, Dec. 13 – Vs. UNC, 4 p.m. Pac-12 Network

Monday, Dec. 22 – Diamond Head Classic First Round vs. DePaul, 2:30 p.m., ESPNU

Tuesday, Dec. 23 – Diamond Head Classic Second Round vs. George Washington/Ohio, TBA, ESPNU

Thursday, Dec. 25 – Diamond Head Classic Championship Game, TBA, ESPN or ESPN2 or ESPNU

Friday, Jan. 2 – Vs. UCLA, 8 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Sunday, Jan. 4 – Vs. USC, Noon, Pac-12 Network

Wednesday, Jan. 7 – At Utah, 7 p.m., ESPN2

Thursday, Jan. 15 – At Arizona, 7 p.m., ESPN or ESPN2

Saturday, Jan. 17 – At Arizona State, 2:30 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Thursday, Jan. 22 – Vs. Washington, 7:30 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Saturday, Jan. 24 – Vs. Washington State, 6 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Thursday, Jan. 29 – At USC, 7:30 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Saturday, Jan. 31 – At UCLA, 8:30 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Saturday, Feb. 7 – Vs. Utah, 8 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Thursday, Feb. 12 – Vs. California, 7 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Sunday, Feb. 15, Vs. Stanford, 2 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Wednesday, Feb. 18 – At Oregon, 9 p.m., ESPNU

Saturday, Feb. 21 – At Oregon State, 9 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Thursday, Feb. 26 – Vs. Arizona, 7 p.m., ESPN or ESPN2

Sunday, March 1 – Vs. Arizona State , 6:30 p.m., ESPNU

Thursday, March 5 – At Washington, 7 p.m., FOX SPORTS 1

Saturday, March 7 – At Washington State, 4:30 p.m., Pac-12 Network

Wednesday, March 11 – Pac-12 Tournament First Round, All Day, Pac-12 Network

Thursday, March 12 – Pac-12 Tournament Quarterfinals, All Day, Pac-12 Network/ESPN

Friday, March 13 – Pac-12 Tournament Semifinals, All Day, Pac-12 Network/ESPN

Saturday, March 14 – Pac-12 Tournament Championship, 9 p.m., ESPN

March 18 – NCAA Tournament begins

March 12 – Pac-12 Tournament: No. 12 USC vs. No. 5 CU, Las Vegas, 3:30 p.m., Pac-12 Network

March 18 – NCAA Tournament begins

Monday, April 6 – NCAA Championship Game

After a few weeks off after spring semester, Colorado men’s basketball players returned to Boulder ready to work.

“We’re excited to get going and do what little bit we can do with them,” CU assistant coach Mike Rohn said.

NCAA rules allow the coaches only two hours per week to work with the players during the summer. But the first time since head coach Tad Boyle was hired in 2010, the players are required to be on campus all summer.

“This is a good time for them individually to work on their game with our facilities and (strength coach James) Hardy,” Rohn said. “And, it’s a good time to get some chemistry and try to focus in on our team.”

After a disappointing 16-18 record last season, the Buffs are in need of fixing a few things. By all accounts they got off to a good start with the offseason program in April before breaking for finals in May.

Throughout June and July, the Buffs practiced and helped to lay the foundation for a rebound season.

Last season, CU had issues with off-court discipline, a lack of leadership and shortcomings on the court. For much of the year, they struggled to score points, especially against quality defensive teams. They also had trouble with their consistency on defense.

These are all issues that have been and will continue to be addressed.

“I think this is a big summer for a lot of guys individually to get bigger and stronger and for us to kind of refocus a little bit on our team,” Rohn said. “So, yeah, I think it’s big, but I don’t know if it’s any bigger than any other summer we’ve had. But, hopefully the guys will have a little more drive possibly to work on their game a little bit more and see where it goes.”

Boyle liked the drive he saw in the players in April. Rohn said that drive is there among the coaching staff, too.

“We’re ready to go,” he said. “That’s what we get paid to do. We’d coach them every day if the rules would let us. We’re always ready to go.”

Brian Howell: twitter.com/BrianHowell33.

blog comments powered by Disqus