BOULDER, CO – SEPTEMBER 7, 2019: University of Colorado’s Laviska Shenault make a long kickoff return, but fumbled at the end of the run. Colorado 34-31 OT win over Nebraska on September 7, 2019. (photo by Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer)

Laviska Sheanult Jr. is closing his Colorado career as a two-time team MVP.

On Sunday at the football team’s annual senior banquet at the Dal Ward Center, Shenault was named the team’s most valuable player for the second year in a row.

Shenault tied for the team lead with 56 catches, while leading the team with 764 receiving yards. He also ran for 161 yards and scored six total touchdowns (four receiving, two rushing). He did all of that despite missing one full game and parts of four others with injuries.

A junior, Shenault announced earlier this week that he will forego his senior year and declare for the 2020 NFL Draft.

The team MVP was first awarded in 1959 and Shenault is just the sixth to player to earn the award more than once. Joe Romig was honored three times (1959-61), while James Mayberry (1977-78), Darian Hagan (1989, 1991), Rae Carruth (1995-96) and Nelson Spruce (2014-15) were all honored twice.

Other team awards Sunday included senior quarterback Steven Montez as most outstanding offensive player and junior linebacker Nate Landman as most outstanding defensive player. Seniors Beau Bisharat and Alex Kinney were honored for special teams achievement.

Running back Jaren Mangham and cornerback KJ Trujillo shared the award for most outstanding freshmen. Running back Alex Fontenot (offense), linebacker Akil Jones (defense) and receiver Jaylon Jackson (special teams) earned awards for most improved.

Montez was also named “best interview” in a vote by local media. He’s the fifth player to earn that award twice since it began in 1987. Other two-time winners: Matt Russell (1995-96), George Hypolite (2007-08), Scotty McKnight (2009-10) and Phillip Lindsay (2016-17).

Captains named

Throughout the season, coaches selected three captains for each game, but players voted on those will be recognized as the captains for the season.

CU announced that the four players voted as season captains were senior punter Alex Kinney, junior linebacker Nate Landman, senior quarterback Steven Montez and senior outside linebacker/star Davion Taylor.

During the season, Montez was named a game captain a team-high six times. Kinney and Taylor were both captains for five games, while Landman was a captain four times.

Tight end Beau Bisharat and receivers Tony Brown and KD Nixon were both game captains twice, while 10 players were captains once.

Bowl bound

Seven Pac-12 teams are headed to bowl games and found out their postseason destinations on Sunday.

Pac-12 champion and sixth-ranked Oregon (11-2) will face No. 8 Wisconsin (10-3) in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, while South champion and No. 11 Utah (11-2) will battle unranked Texas (7-5) in the Alamo Bowl on Dec. 31.

Other Pac-12 matchups:

Holiday Bowl, Dec. 27: No. 22 Southern California (8-4) vs. No. 16 Iowa (9-3)

Redbox Bowl, Dec. 30: California (7-5) vs. Illinois (6-6)

Sun Bowl, Dec. 31: Arizona State (7-5) vs. Florida State (6-6)

Las Vegas Bowl, Dec. 21: Washington (7-5) vs. No. 21 Boise State (12-1)

Cheez-It Bowl, Dec. 27: Washington State (6-6) vs. Air Force (10-2)

blog comments powered by Disqus