Scrooge, played by Scott Moore, at front, and Jacob Marley, played by Steve Van Lier, perform a scene from “Scrooge” in 2017 at the Jesters Dinner Theatre in Longmont. “Scrooge: Bah Humbug!” is on stage at Jesters through Dec. 30.
Scrooge, played by Scott Moore, at front, and Jacob Marley, played by Steve Van Lier, perform a scene from “Scrooge” in 2017 at the Jesters Dinner Theatre in Longmont. “Scrooge: Bah Humbug!” is on stage at Jesters through Dec. 30.
PUBLISHED: | UPDATED:

Ada and the Engine Jane Austen meets Steve Jobs in this pre-tech romance heralding the computer age, through Dec. 18, Firehouse Theater Company, John Hand Theater, 7653 E. 1st Place, Denver; $23-$25; firehousetheatercompany.com.

American Son A mother frantically attempts to find information about her missing son from evasive detectives, through Dec. 11, Curious Theatre Company, 1080 Acoma St., Denver; $36-$40; curioustheatre.org.

A Christmas Carol A money-hoarding curmudgeon is transformed in Charles Dickens’ classic story, through Dec. 26, Denver Center Theatre Company, 14th and Curtis streets, Denver; $40-$90; denvercenter.org.

A Christmas Carol New spin on the old Scrooge classic, through Dec. 23, Miners Alley Playhouse, 1224 Washington St., Golden; $27-$39; minersalley.com.

Disney’s The Lion King National tour of the beloved musical, Dec. 2-Jan. 2, 2022, DCPA Broadway, Buell Theatre, Denver Performing Arts Center, 14th and Curtis streets, Denver; $35-$175; denvercenter.org.

Elf – the Musical Heartwarming musical comedy based on the film about a human raised by Santa’s elves, who saves Christmas, through Dec. 23, Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities, 6901 Wadsworth Blvd., Arvada; $53; arvadacenter.org.

Fall Lab Readings of three new plays, Dec. 4-6, Local Theater Company, Deviant Spirits, 2480 49th St., Suite E, Boulder; $15-$30; localtheaterco.org.

Meteor Shower Regional premiere of a Steve Martin comedy about an unusual dinner party, through Dec. 18, Benchmark Theatre, 1560 Teller St., Lakewood; $15-$30; benchmarktheatre.com.

Santa’s Big Red Sack Irreverent comic sketches, befitting the season, Dec. 2-24, Rattlebrain Productions, The People’s Building, 9995 E. Colfax Ave., Aurora; $29.50; rattlebrainproductions.com.

Scrooge: Bah Humbug! Jesters’ long-running musical based on the holiday classic “A Christmas Carol”; through Dec. 30; Jesters Dinner Theatre, 224 Main St., Longmont; $17-$48; jesterstheatre.com.

The Sound of Music The heartwarming story based on the Von Trapp Family singers; through Jan. 30; Candlelight Dinner Playhouse, 4747 Marketplace Drive, Johnstown; $29-$56; coloradocandlelight.com.

A Tuna Christmas Two actors portray dozens of characters living in the smallest town in Texas in this comedy, through Dec. 11, Longmont Theatre Company, 513 Main St., Longmont; $35.50; longmonttheatre.org.

A Very Merry (Unauthorized) Children’s Scientology Pageant Satirical musical about a troupe of kids who join together to tell the story of Scientology founder L. Ron Hubbard, through Dec. 19, Aurora Fox Theater, 9900 E. Colfax Ave., Aurora; $15-$36; aurorafox.org.

White Christmas Musical featuring the songs of Irving Berlin, through Jan. 8, 2022, BDT Stage, 5501 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder; $65-$75; bdtstage.com.

Coming soon

Christmas Revels: Celtic Roads A celebration of the Winter Solstice exploring Celtic traditions of music, dance and story, Dec. 18-22, Rocky Mountain Revels, Dairy Arts Center 2590 Walnut St., Boulder; thedairy.org.

Hamilton National tour of the groundbreaking musical, Feb. 16-March 27, DCPA, 14th and Curtis streets, Denver; $59-$199; denvercenter.org.

Making Merry Actors perform stories and songs of the season, Dec. 18, Stories on Stage, Nomad Playhouse, 1410 Quince Ave., Boulder; $22; storiesonstage.org.

To submit a new play or production, email the entry plus a high-resolution photo to features@prairiemountainmedia.com, with “theater listings” in the subject line.